Vision therapy is sometimes mistakenly seen as being just for children, but did you know that adults with undiagnosed vision problems who struggle with learning can benefit from vision therapy  as well?

Difficulties while reading, working, and learning to play the cello caused this adult patient to seek a comprehensive vision exam with a developmental optometrist found with COVD’s Locate a Doctor tool. He was prescribed glasses with prisms and a course of vision therapy. Follow his journey below as he retrains his brain and eyes to work together.

Week 1 – Week 2 – Week 3 – Week 4 – Week 5 – Week 6 – Week 7 – Week 8 – Week 9 – Week 10 – Week 12 – Week 13

While I may be one of the less-common adult patients around the vision therapy office, I admit that I might have been counting the weeks until I finally got my turn with the mysterious TV-on-a-stand taunting me from the back corner. It hasn’t been all that long since my time in grade school and seeing it wheeled toward me started the nostalgic flashbacks about this pillar of 90s education:

tv cart.jpg
You always knew it was going to be a good day when the teacher rolled this bad boy out!

Technology has had such a flood of updates since those days, though, and we all know that TVs are now flat and VCRs are now all but forgotten. This was the case for the vision therapy setup, too–I stood facing the expansive monitor that turned out to also be a touch-screen and input my name using a wireless keyboard. My first activity worked my memory as much as my vision by flashing a series of letters or words on the screen in a row, then showing them again spread all over the screen for me to find in order. I got a bit full of myself after a successful “easy” round and asked her to crank the activity up to the hardest level. The biggest takeaway from this was how obvious it became that even a split-second of distraction (usually trying to crack a joke in my case) ended in the whole word list disappearing from my brain completely. Lesson learned: finding things visually takes full focus!

I had never seen a 3D TV before in-person and it was like magic; I was so excited to put on the glasses and select the image I wanted to use in our next activity. I felt like a kid again as I looked over my choices and settled on an orange gecko who looked like a pretty cool guy. My vision therapist explained that this would be practice keeping 2 flat images together as one 3-dimensional one, the same as I had the week before with vectograms.   To my surprise, she picked up an Xbox controller from the TV station and used it to slowly move apart the 2 images of the gecko that had started on top of each other. I counteracted this separation by using my improving visual skills and was able to still see one 3D gecko even when she had moved the two images quite a bit apart.

tv-gecko

When we had used all our time, the screen gave a readout of my statistics and showed a measurement of how far I had been able to keep the images of the gecko together. The goal number for this activity was pretty far from my current ability, but just like I’ve improved so much with all the other activities, I know in a few weeks I’ll be looking at that cool gecko with ease, even when he’s split so far in two!

Could you or your child be struggling with an undiagnosed vision problem? Locate a Doctor near you to schedule a comprehensive exam and find out if vision therapy can help!

